2. Paragraph 1 does not infringe on the right of each party to extend beyond three months the right of residence of a foreigner on its territory in exceptional circumstances or in accordance with a bilateral agreement reached before this agreement came into force. This means that Schengen Member States that were not part of the EU have few formally binding options to influence the development and development of Schengen rules; their options are effectively reduced to approval or exit from the agreement. However, consultations are being held with the countries concerned prior to the adoption of certain new provisions. [14] 3. If the parties fail to reach an agreement, the contracting party that did not issue the tender submits the matter to the common supervisory authority under Article 115, paragraph 1, for comment. On 19 June 1990, in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, representatives of the governments of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Federal Republic of Germany, the French Republic, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands signed the Schengen Agreement on 14 June 1985 between the governments of the Benelux Economic Union, the Federal Republic of Germany and the French Republic on the phasing out of controls at their common borders. 1. In accordance with relevant international conventions and in view of local conditions and technical possibilities, the parties set up telephone lines, communication lines and other direct links, particularly in border areas, in order to facilitate police and customs cooperation, particularly for the timely transmission of information for cross-border surveillance and repression.

Differences of opinion between Member States led to a deadlock in the abolition of border controls within the Community, but in 1985 five of the ten Member States at the time – Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany – signed an agreement on the phasing out of border controls. The agreement was signed on the princess Marie-Astrid boat in Moselle, near the city of Schengen,[5] where the territories of France, Germany and Luxembourg meet.